Tofu Tuesday

So I was very, very nervous to try tofu. I’ve had it before in miso soup but other than that I have had no experience with it and needless to say I was scared. I know that sounds a bit dramatic but hey we’re all allowed to get dramatic every now and then (more so for some of us haha). Well I’m not about to give up meat and become a hardcore tofu fanatic but it wasn’t half bad. Definitely something I would fill in with every now and then, especially because the price was SO good. I think that whole block of tofu was under $3. Take that chicken.

I did some research on tofu before I attempted to cook it and the majority of people recommended not marinading the tofu first because tofu takes on the taste of whatever you cook it with and the flavor could end up being too overwhelming.

I had previously bought teriyaki sauce so I figured this would be a great thing to cook the tofu in because it would be a different flavor than I normally cook with but also one that is strong without being too strong. I know I know, kind of a baby move wanting to have something a bit strong but do you blame me? Tofu seemed so weird!

Ingredients:

-One package of organic firm tofu drained and patted dry (the dryer the better)

-garlic

-red pepper

-tomato

-zucchini

-olive oil

But in reality you can really use any sauce/vegetables for the tofu, this is just what I had on hand.

Ingriedients

Instructions:

  1. Cut the tofu into strips and squeeze between paper towels in order to dry as much as possible. This is because the tofu is much easier to cook when it is dry.
  2. Coat pan in olive oil and place tofu on pan. Cook until slightly browned and then flip tofu and do                                       the same on the other side.                                            Uncooked Tofu
  3. Add in marinade of choice and vegetables and cook until vegetables are fully cooked and tofu is                                        browned to desire on both sides.                                           Cooking Tofu
  4. Enjoy!                                                                              End Meal

If you are curious about the health benefits of tofu check out this article!

Have you guys ever tried tofu? Did you enjoy it or was it not for you? Any recipe suggestions for it? 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

