Tuna Tuesday: Canned Tuna Ceviche

I love tuna, I really, really do. I’m not sure what I love more about it though, the taste or how inexpensive it is.  Or how well it pairs with so many different things. Or how easy it is to make. I could continue but I think we all get what I’m saying.

So knowing this little secret about my tuna love, you can only imagine how excited I get when I find new ways to use canned tuna fish. You didn’t think I meant the fresh and fancy type of tuna? Oh no no no. I love cannnnnnned tuna fish.  Well, while I was browsing Skinny Taste the other day I came across this “Poor man’s ceviche” recipe.  It seemed perfect for what I was looking for; a healthy, simple and wallet friendly meal!

Ingredients:

-2 tbsp minced red onion

-1 to 1 ½ limes

-kosher salt and freshly ground pepper, as needed

-1 tsp olive oil

-1 (7 oz) can chunk albacore tuna packed in water (drained)

-1 medium seeded plum tomato, finely diced

-2 tbsp chopped cilantro

-2 oz sliced avocado (about a half of avocado) * I would have used this but I forgot my avocado. I can imagine it could only have made it even better though, since avocado is the best*

Then she also recommended two other ingredients that I didn’t use (by choice this time):

-1 jalapeno, minced (Keep seeds for spicy) or you can use pickled

-3 drops Tabasco sauce

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, combine the red onion, pinch of kosher salt, juice of one lime and olive oilphoto 3
  2. Mix in the chopped cilantro, jalapeno, drained tuna, tomato, and Tabasco.photo 2
  3.  Taste for salt and lime and adjust as needed
  4. Cover and let sit in the refrigerator for at least 20 minutes in order to let the flavors blend. I made mine the night before and I’m not sure if it was because I let it sit for so long or if I used too much cilantro but I tasted a lot of that so just be careful!photo 1
  5. Top with your fresh avocado, serve over a bed of spinach and enjoy!                   photo (1)

How many of you love tuna as much as I do? Or avocado?What inexpensive recipes have you tried recently? 

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Tuna Tuesday: Canned Tuna Ceviche

  1. […] HOT Starkist Tuna Fish CouponTravel Guide Blog: Catching Tuna Fish like the Romans on Costa de la LuzOmega-3 fatty acids, depleting the source, and protein insufficiency in renal diseaseTuna Tuesday: Canned Tuna Ceviche […]

  2. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you could be a great
    author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back
    in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great writing, have a nice afternoon!

  3. darmowe ogłoszenia manchester March 26, 2015 at 4:34 am Reply

    I really like what you guys are up too. Such clever
    work and coverage! Keep up the great works guys I’ve you
    guys to my blogroll.

  4. gagner des followers Sur instagram May 7, 2015 at 5:18 pm Reply

    Remarkable! Its actually amazing paragraph, I have got much clear idea about from this post.

Leave a Reply

