Weekend wrap-up!

Hi guys! So here goes nothing with post number 2. I decided for my second post to do a “weekend wrap-up” or basically a recap of the past weekend, combining it all into one post. I do apologize because it’s a bit of a long one I’m just so excited to have finally started blogging!

Friday: This past weekend I was up in Boston visiting Bill. I didn’t arrive until around 10:45pm and by the time we got back to Bill’s apartment it was around 11:15 so we just relaxed for a bit and then went to bed early.

Saturday: Since we went to bed early on Friday we were able to wake and get a head start on our day! I knew Bill had a lot of work to do so I offered to make breakfast and lunch for the day so he wouldn’t have to worry. For breakfast I made scrambled eggs, whole wheat toast with mashed up avocado (just a little salt & pepper to taste), and a smoothie. For the smoothie I used fresh mango, strawberries and blueberries, spinach, flaxseed, vanilla Greek yogurt, and almond milk. breakfast

While Bill did his work I set up my blog and wrote the first post (so exciting, ah!), did a very minor workout (hey, anything counts right?), and then walked to the grocery store to pick up things for lunch. When Bill finished studying we walked over to the park in Cleveland Circle to layout (don’t worry, we wore SPF) and have lunch. I was proud of us because instead of taking the T, which we normally would have, we walked the mile there and back and got in a little exercise. It is such an easy thing to do that we don’t always take advantage of, so I’m glad we did. It was one of our Healthy Beginnings!

For lunch I made us sandwiches that in my opinion tasted pretty darn good. The sandwiches were turkey with tomato, spinach, Swiss cheese, and instead of mayo I used Sabra Hummus. I normally am such a big fan of mayo, I even go so far as putting it on both pieces of bread. The hummus tasted amazing and it was such a different flavor, I highly recommend it! Then, we had baby carrots to dip in the rest of the hummus and fresh watermelon. The watermelon was gone in about .2 seconds, which isn’t surprising though because watermelon on a hot day is the best. lunchselfie

(Our #shamelessselfie at the park!)

Saturday night we just relaxed and made a semi healthy dinner and drank wine, but we were okay with that because we felt we had been really good during the day. Two out of three meals for us is such an accomplishment that I can’t be upset. Go us!

Sunday: Sunday we were supposed to wake up and take a Yoga Rocks the Park class but we decided to not go since we both really needed the sleep. I was a little bummed, even though Bill offered many times to still go even though we were both exhausted. It seemed like a really fun experience but we’ll just have to go another time. Instead of working out, we just laid around and watched more of Boardwalk Empire season 2 and ate the same breakfast as yesterday except this time with bacon as well (we’re not perfect…yet).

We then met Jenna and Ryan at Legal Harborside for a late lunch/early dinner. Spending time with them is always a fun occasion! The food was amazing of course, however we didn’t order the healthiest of options. I didn’t take any pictures but we ordered a sampling of raw oysters, the gluten free fried calamari, fried shrimp, and a clam and arugula pizza. We also had some delicious drinks, my favorite being the strawberry sangria! Yum! From there I took the bus back to New York to end my weekend.

What were all of your weekend plans? Anyone do anything exciting for the soccer games? Spend anytime outside? What are your favorite breakfast options? Any good picnic ideas or mayo substitutes for sandwiches? I would love to hear your ideas!

Tagged: ,

5 thoughts on “Weekend wrap-up!

  1. megjohnson35 July 1, 2014 at 12:37 pm Reply

    Pesto//guacamole//Dijon mustard are all mayo substitues I like 🙂

    • myhealthybeginnings July 2, 2014 at 9:18 am Reply

      ooo guacamole could definitely be an interesting sandwich topper! I shall have to try that soon! Thanks for the idea!

  2. Kate Domack July 1, 2014 at 1:41 pm Reply

    Our plans for the weekend consist of being outside a ton at the beach, pool, and BBQs enjoying the fireworks. My exercise will include swimming (maybe) and chasing after an active 2 year old (well when I can’t get my husband to do it). I will make sure to eat some extra fruit just for you but I’m pretty sure the amount of Shady’s I plan to have will negate that! 

    • myhealthybeginnings July 2, 2014 at 9:20 am Reply

      That sounds like a very busy but fun weekend! Swimming is such a great exercise because it’s easier on your joints than most other cardio exercises, plus its a fun way to stay cool during this heat! Haha that two year old of yours definitely has a lot of energy so keeping up with him counts as exercising for sure! Have a Shandy for me also please!

  3. Lanora February 4, 2015 at 3:54 pm Reply

    Do you want to copy posts from other blogs rewrite them in seconds
    and post on your website? You can save a lot of writing work, just type in gogle:
    naptia’s rewriter

Leave a Reply

